Lovelight Festival Logo

The 5 Tibetan Rights and 10 minutes with Rainbow Joe

Rainbow Joe

The Five Tibetan Rites are thought to be more than 2,500 years old. They were reportedly created by Tibetan lamas (monks), or leaders of Tibetan Buddhism, though their place of origin is still debated by some. 

The practice of these exercises is based on the body’s energy. According to practitioners, the body has seven energy fields, or vortexes. These fields are called chakras in Hindu. 

It’s said that these fields control parts of the endocrine system, a network of glands and organs that regulate many of the body’s functions, including the aging process.

Practitioners say youth and vigor can be achieved when these energy fields spin at the same rate. People practice the Five Tibetan Rites in order to achieve this.

There’s limited research on the benefits of this practice. In general, they’re based on anecdotal reports by practitioners of the Five Tibetan Rites and the opinions of medical professionals and yoga instructors. 

While each rite is meant to be practiced 21 times a day, you can begin by doing them less frequently.

Reported benefits include:

  • relief from joint pain and stiffness
  • improved strength and coordination
  • better circulation
  • reduced anxiety
  • better sleep
  • improved energy
  • a youthful appearance